Glenn Irwin has continued his winning form, doubling down on race wins at Silverstone in the opening round of the Bennetts British Superbike Championship. Racing for Honda Racing UK, Irwin held off a last lap attack and a race to the line to win by just 0.079s from the fast finishing Kyle Ryde.

Irwin and Ryde Battle it Out at Silverstone

As opposed to the 24 lap race one distance, race two would be held over 30 laps, making tyre preservation key.

After setting the fastest lap in race one, Kyle Ryde started from pole ahead of team-mate Bradley Ray and second-year rider Rory Skinner.

Race one winner Irwin headed the second row from Lee Jackson and Jason O’Halloran, who finished fifth during the season opener.
Bradley Ray grabbed the holeshot off the line to lead the pack as Luke Mossey, Storm Stacey and Dan Jones tumbled out of the action on the opening lap.

Another incident on lap four saw Tom Sykes highside before Chrissy Rouse ran into the back of his Ducati machine, resulting in both riders failing to finish. Sykes was then slow getting back to his feet which meant the Safety Car was deployed for the first time this season.

When the race resumed on lap eight Ray continued to lead but on lap 21 he slid out of contention at Luffield, ending his chance of another podium finish.

By this time Irwin had carved his way through the pack and was handed the lead courtesy of Ray’s crash, with Ryde and Skinner in close contention. Ryde was piling on the pressure but Glenn Irwin was defensive enough to hold him off to the chequered flag.

Bennetts British Superbike Championship, Silverstone, Race 2 result:

Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing UK)
Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) +0.079s
Rory Skinner (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) +0.994s
Lee Jackson (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) +4.032s
Andrew Irwin (SYNETIQ BMW) +4.321s
Jason O’Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) +4.979s
Peter Hickman (FHO Racing BMW) +7.798s
Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) +8.586s
Danny Buchan (SYNETIQ BMW) +8.642s
Christian Iddon (Buildbase Suzuki) +10.553s

For the full result please click here

Bennetts British Superbike Championship standings after Silverstone Race 2:

Glenn Irwin (Honda Racing UK) 50
Kyle Ryde (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) 40
Rory Skinner (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) 29
Jason O’Halloran (McAMS Yamaha) 21
Andrew Irwin (SYNETIQ BMW) 21
Lee Jackson (FS-3 Racing Kawasaki) 20
Tommy Bridewell (Oxford Products Racing Ducati) 17
Bradley Ray (Rich Energy OMG Racing Yamaha) 16