Jack Miller wins at the Spanish Grand Prix Jerez 2021

Grand Prix Racing at the Circuito de Jerez – Angel Nieto

This is the 36th successive year that a motorcycle Grand Prix has been held at Jerez since its debut in 1987. With two GPs in 2020 though, this is the 37th successive time there’s a GP at the track. Assen is the only current venue to hold consecutive events for longer: 71 years from 1949 to 2019 (the 2020 event was cancelled).

Most successful riders
Valentino Rossi – 9 wins (6 x MotoGP™, 1 x 500cc, 1 x 250cc, 1 x 125cc)
Jorge Lorenzo – 5 wins (3 x MotoGP™, 2 x 250cc)
Dani Pedrosa – 4 wins (3 x MotoGP™, 1 x 250cc)
Mick Doohan – 4 wins (4 x 500cc)
Alex Criville – 4 wins (3 x 500cc, 1 x 125cc)

Jerez has had nine MotoGP winners since 2002: Valentino Rossi (6), Marc Marquez (3), Jorge Lorenzo (3), Dani Pedrosa (3), Fabio Quartararo (2), Jack Miller (1), Casey Stoner (1), Loris Capirossi (1), Sete Gibernau (1).

Honda’s last win in the premier class at Jerez: Marc Marquez in 2019.

Yamaha’s last win in the premier class at Jerez: Fabio Quartararo at the 2020 Andalucia GP, from pole. Quartararo qualified on pole for the last four races held at Jerez (since 2019).

Ducati have two premier class wins here: Loris Capirossi in 2006 from pole and Jack Miller last year.

The last of Suzuki’s two victories at Jerez came in 2000 when Kenny Roberts Jr. won the 500cc race on his way to clinching the world title. In 2019, Alex Rins finished second, which was Suzuki’s best MotoGP™ result at Jerez.

Aleix Espargaro’s P6 in 2021 equalled Aprilia’s best premier class result in Jerez (Doriano Romboni in 1997).

Pol Espargaro finished sixth at the 2020 Spanish GP for KTM’s best premier class result at Jerez.

Alberto Puig’s victory at Jerez on May 7th, 1995, was the first home win for a Spanish rider in the premier class.

Jerez is the most successful circuit for Spanish riders in the premier class, with a total of 14 wins (ahead of Le Mans and the Sachsenring, with 13): Alberto Puig in 1995; Alex Criville in 1997, 98, 99; Sete Gibernau in 2004; Dani Pedrosa in 2008, 2013, 2017; Jorge Lorenzo in 2010, 2011, 2015; Marc Marquez in 2014, 2018, 2019.

With Jack Miller, Francesco Bagnaia and Franco Morbidelli on the podium at Jerez last year though, it was the first time there was no Spaniard on the podium at the track since 2003 with Valentino Rossi, Max Biaggi and Troy Bayliss. In 2003, no Spanish riders made it across the line (Carlos Checa retired, Sete Gibernau crashed).

10 of the riders lining up for the MotoGP™ race at Jerez have previously won Grand Prix races at the track: Marc Marquez (3), Fabio Quartararo (2), Pol Espargaro (2), Alex Marquez (1), Brad Binder (1), Luca Marini (1), Enea Bastianini (1), Jack Miller (1), Maverick Viñales (1) and Fabio Di Giannantonio (1).