Miguel Oliveria leaves the Pits Portugal 2021

Grand Prix Racing in Portugal

This is the 17th time Portugal hosts a Grand Prix. The first on Portuguese soil was in 2000, and the first two Portuguese Grands Prix were actually held in Spain: in Jarama in 1987 and Jerez in 1988.

Following an eleven-year break, the event returned to the calendar in 2000 at Estoril, where it was held every year until 2012. This will be the fourth time that the Autodromo Internacional do Algarve has hosted a Grand Prix, and the third time it’s named the Portuguese GP (adding to the Algarve GP last year).

In 2020, the track became the 72nd different circuit to hold a premier class Grand Prix, and the 29th to hold a MotoGPTM race since the introduction of the class in 2002.All winners at Portimão

Raul Fernandez – 2 (1xMoto2TM, 1xMoto3TM)
Pedro Acosta – 2 (2xMoto3TM)
Remy Gardner – 2 (2xMoto2TM)
Miguel Oliveira – 1 (1xMotoGPTM)
Fabio Quartarararo – 1 (1xMotoGPTM)
Francesco Bagnaia – 1 (1xMotoGPKTM)

Yamaha and Ducati are the most successful manufacturers in MotoGPTM in Portimão with one win each: Miguel Oliveira at the 2020 Portuguese GP, Fabio Quartararo at the 2021 Portuguese GP and
Francesco Bagnaia at the 2021 Algarve GP, all of them from pole.

Suzuki’s best result at Portimão: second with Joan Mir at the 2021 Algarve GP, Mir’s most recent podium.

Honda’s best: fourth with Alex Marquez, also at the Algarve GP last year.

Aprilia’s best: Aleix Espargaro, sixth in 2021/1 (Portuguese GP). With Aleix Espargaro in sixth and Lorenzo Savadori in 14th at the Portuguese GP, this was the first time two Aprilia riders scored since
Austria in 2020.

Six different riders have stood on the podium in MotoGPTM at Portimão: Francesco Bagnaia (2), Jack Miller (2), Joan Mir (2), Fabio Quartararo (1), Miguel Oliveira (1) and Franco Morbidelli (1).