Ryan Walkinshaw and Zac Brown discuss WAU's future plans

Walkinshaw Andretti United will field Ford Mustangs when the Gen3 era begins in 2023.

WAU will make a blockbuster switch from General Motors to the Blue Oval from next year.

The switch was confirmed on Friday, less than a week after the fourth round in Perth.

It is the most significant manufacturer move since Triple Eight switched from Ford to Holden in 2010.

Ford will provide factory support to the team; it will be the first time since 2016 the team will have manufacturer support.

Speculation had been rife over WAU’s manufacturer allegiance for some time.

Only this year, Ryan Walkinshaw said he had non-disclosure agreements with “six manufacturers”.

“Today marks a new era for Walkinshaw Andretti United, one we are extremely excited about,” Walkinshaw said.

“For over three decades we have gone head-to-head in competition with Ford, but joining forces with them for Gen3 was the clear direction forward.

“We are extremely proud of our history with Holden over such a long period of time, that is something we will always be grateful for.

“We will wear the Holden badge with pride right up until their final race in Supercars at the end of 2022.

“But now it’s time for change, it’s time for a new chapter.”

Chaz Mostert and Nick Percat are both contracted to the team for 2023.

Mostert raced Fords between 2013 and 2019 for Dick Johnson Racing and Tickford Racing.

Percat, meanwhile, has only raced Commodores in both Supercars and Super2.

The team was the Holden factory team between 1990 and 2016, and was rebranded as WAU in 2018.

Walkinshaw cars have won 186 races, eight Bathursts and six drivers’ titles in Commodores.

A switch to Ford is a remarkable development in the team’s long history with GM.

Walkinshaw Jaguars finished one-three in the 1985 Bathurst 1000.

However, from 1990, the Walkinshaw brand has been synonymous with GM.

The Walkinshaw outfit rose to power in the 1990s as the Holden Racing Team, with Craig Lowndes and Mark Skaife leading the charge.

Between 1996 and 2002, Lowndes and Skaife combined for six of the seven titles on offer.

Skaife won the championship and Great Race two years in a row in 2001 and 2002.

The Walkinshaw group also produced Holden Special Vehicles; the HSV Dealer Team won titles in 2006 and 2007.

Currently, the Walkinshaw group also modifies Amaroks through Volkswagen under the ‘W-Series’ banner.

The Walkinshaw family’s history with Ford began in 1974, when Tom Walkinshaw raced a Capri in the British Touring Car Championship.

WAU co-owners Michael Andretti and Zak Brown also have history with Ford.

Andretti won the 1983 Formula Mondial North American Cup, and used Ford motors in both Formula 1 and IndyCar.

McLaren Racing boss Brown won races in the British Formula Ford series in 1991, and now owns several famous Fords.

“Walkinshaw Andretti United is a business with three international branches, and all three share history with Ford,” Walkinshaw said.

“My mum even met my dad while he was racing a Ford Capri in the British Touring Car Championship.

“To have manufacturer support once again is essential for our race team and the goals we have, and we thank Ford for their trust in us.

“For now, our short-term focus remains on 2022, continuing what we’ve started, and finishing our current chapter on a high.”